Why Would I Blog?

“Why would I blog”?  “What could I have to say that others would want to read?” These are only two of the several questions that I have been allowing to keep me from sharing and interacting with others through this format.

I started this blog post thinking that I would likely not have enough to say to make it worthy of posting.  Ya right!  As I continue to write this post, I continue to identify new reasons that blogging might make sense for me.  With that being said, here are a few of the more “coherent” thoughts I’ve had about blogging recently.

For the past few months, I have been reading the blogs of well know colleagues and others who I’ve recently been connected to around the world through Twitter.  I cannot even begin to explain how the thoughts and insights from other educators has continued to develop my own professional growth and learning.

It is my hope that by blogging I will not only be able to organize my own thoughts, but that I will also hear from others who perhaps know more than I and can share with me their insights on various educational questions and issues that I may be considering.

In reading a recent article from Anne Davies, Anne states that “Leaders need time to reflect. Written reflections help us stay on track and, over time, serve to show us progress in relation to our beginnings. Consider keeping a weekly journal. It will help you recognize the progress you are making and guide your next steps.” 

I very much agree with Anne and believe that a blog can serve as not only an effective means of professional reflection, but that my blog posts will allow others to contribute to and help me to diversify my reflection on questions and issues which I am facing. 

I also recognize that blog posts will serve as a means of long term professional growth and reflection as I go back to read them several months later.  I am confident that I will see an evolution in my thoughts and understanding of various topics through the conversations that they will hopefully generate.

Also, as educators we know that being a reflective practitioner is a critical piece to effective teaching.  As a teacher I know that I am not unique when I think about the lessons of the day or the interactions that I had with particular students and/or parents and I wonder how I could have handled something in a more effective manner. 

Just like many of you teachers out there, I have also engaged in the “hallway conversations” about my day and asked for advice with any issues that may have arose.  While these strategies have likely lead to some informal professional learning and growth, and these methods may have been the most easily accessible several years ago, I am not sure that this is good enough any longer.  Don’t get me wrong, I have been very fortunate to work with many extremely talented and knowledgeable teachers and administrators throughout my career, but in the 21st century when we have access to colleagues and experts around the world 24 hours a day, why should we restrict ourselves to learning only from those who immediately surround us?

What do you think?  Why do you blog?  Do any of you out there have blogs that I can add to my list of professional reading?  Do you have any great suggestions as I begin to develop my WordPress page.  Any thoughts you can provide would be greatly appreciated!  If you have answers to any of these questions or any other thoughts, please post a response to my blog and continue to enjoy a great summer!

Shaye

About SPatras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Would I Blog?

  1. Shaye,

    Great post…It is great that you are joining in on this. I know that through my interactions with you, I always learn something. Unfortunately, they are too few and far in between. Through this, I get to learn alongside you in a way that is not only meaningful, but is also accommodating to many who need to take a dip out of the pool in their own time. Good luck with the blogging and have a great first year at Blueberry!

    • SPatras says:

      George,

      Thank you for taking the time to comment and to encourage me to get started with this form of learning and collaboration. It is exciting and I look forward to continuing to learn with and from you and others around the world.

  2. Bryn says:

    Great post Shaye! I look forward to reading more of your thoughts… Looking forward to continuing to work with you next year!! Hope you’re having a great summer so far!

Leave a Reply

