Wow! What a Learning Organization!

I have begun this post 3 times but have changed my focus daily as I continue to learn and reflect.  I hope that this has led to a message that is inspiring to those of you so generously giving me your next 5 minutes. 

The purpose of this post is to participate in the Parkland School Division  initiative titled “The 184 Day Project” ,  answering “What did you learn today?”  In that light, here is what I have learned today. 

I learned how lucky I am to be working in such an innovative division.  I have had the opportunity to work as a teacher, a Curriculum Facilitator, and as a princpal at both Seba Beach School and  Blueberry School

I have worked with phenomenal colleagues and supervisors.  Our leadership team and senior executive are visionary, our teachers are amazing and our students are extraordinary!

We are dedicated to the development of the whole child.  One needs to look no further than our Citizenship and Social Responsibility program.

All of this aside, today the best thing about PSD is our parents.  I started yesterday with a parent meeting.  I will be finishing today with our “Meet the Teacher BBQ Blast” and I get to attend my first School Council meeting on Monday night. I am so grateful that we have parents who are so willing to work with us, and more importantly parents who are advocates for their children!

Take a minute to reflect on your school.  What makes it the best place in the world?  Please share with me  your thoughts!

About SPatras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

