Looking Back, Looking Forward!

December provides us with an opportunity both to look back on what has been accomplished so far, as well as to begin to anticipate all that is soon to come in the new year.

The extracurricular sports programs have continued to be a source of school pride again this year.  Not only did our cross country team win several ribbons and medals, but they also provided an opportunity for our students to show their passion for participating!  I was excited to see so many students from grades 1-9 running for sheer enjoyment of being a member of the BLAZE!  Volleyball season saw our teams show great skill development, sportsmanship and strong placings within Parkland School Division.  Basketball season is underway and our teams are looking great!  As we sneak a peek ahead at the new year students and parents can prepare for the Edmonton Journal Games and the Vancouver Sun Run among many other opportunities that await!

While celebrating some of the many opportunities for Blueberry students that exist outside of the classroom environment, one cannot forget the fantastic Christmas concerts that we have enjoyed so much.  Under the leadership of Ms. Bauer, and with the support of many staff, students and parents, the Blueberry learning community was treated to three fantastic concerts this past week.  Our students entertained and amazed all who were fortunate enough to join us to celebrate the season.  In addition, as we glance ahead to 2013 I know that we all are eagerly anticipating the next Drama production to be delivered by students in grades 7-9 under the leadership of Ms. Jackson and Ms. Bauer!

2012-2013 has brought with it some exciting new changes that I would like to share.  First, we are excited to have several new members on our School Council.  Keep your eyes out for upcoming agendas and consider attending future meetings to hear what’s happening and to share your perspective.  In addition, the Blueberry School Fundraising Committee (BSFC) has done an amazing job transforming our Library into a 21st century Learning Commons.  While we are not quite finished with this transition, I encourage you to come into the school to see the opportunities that this new space provides to the students of Blueberry School.  As we look ahead to the new year, the BSFC will be working towards our new project “Landscape for Learning”.  Please consider coming out to a future BSFC meeting to learn what we are doing to continue to improve our campus for all students, parents and community members.  We would greatly appreciate your input.

I appreciate the opportunity to share my thoughts with you, and would be excited to hear yours.  Please feel free to send me an email, reply to this blog, call me or simply stop by to talk!  I look forward to hearing from you as we move into the new year!

On behalf of the staff of Blueberry School, I would like to wish you a safe and relaxing holiday season with family and friends.

Mr. S. Patras

Principal, Blueberry School

About Shaye Patras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Back, Looking Forward!

  1. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back regularly!

    • SPatras says:

      Clayton,

      Thank you very much for taking your time to follow the world of Blueberry School and my professional reflections.

      Sincerely,

      Shaye

Leave a Reply

