Learning How to Learn at Woodhaven Middle School

I would like to begin by sharing with the Woodhaven learning community how excited I am to be joining your team! I have already had the opportunity to meet some fantastic staff, parents and students and I am certainly looking forward to meeting many more throughout the days and weeks to come!

As we put the final pieces in place for the arrival of students at Woodhaven Middle School I have been reflecting on our school goals of helping our students “learn how to learn” and supporting them as they “learn how to get along”. I have been able to discuss with many of our staff the amazing strategies and supports that we put in place to help our students work towards these goals and I have to say that I am truly impressed and I know that you will be too.

Over the next few weeks as students and staff settle into their new classrooms, form new friendships, and create the culture of their learning environment I will be encouraging our students to watch our teachers as we continue to “learn how to learn”.  In Parkland School Division, we know that we are all learners! This is evident with the staff at Woodhaven Middle School as we work together to solve new problems and find innovative and creative ways to support our kids.

As the principal of Woodhaven Middle School, I strive to be the lead learner! This year I know that I will learn from our staff, our parents and always from our students.  Throughout this school year you will have the opportunity to take a peek into my learning through this blog as well as by following me on twitter (@shayepatras).

I look forward to working with… learning with… and leading the Woodhaven learning community this year!

Shaye Patras

Principal, Woodhaven Middle School

About Shaye Patras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

