The Top 10 Gems From Week 1 at Woodhaven Middle School

Top 10 lists always seem to get so many readers that I just couldn’t resist!

I was recently asked by Jordi Weidman (@JordiWeidman) to write a post for the 184 Days of Learning blog as I am enjoying my first few weeks as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School and there’s no question that I’ve learned a ton already!

Joining the Woodhaven team has been like coming home as I began my journey in Parkland School Division over 10 years ago as a teacher at Woodhaven Jr. High. So much has changed over those 10 years… as it should!  As I reflect on an exciting first week, I would like to share with you a few of the cornerstones of our work at Woodhaven Middle School.

Communication

During this first week I have learned that at Woodhaven Middle School, we work extremely hard to keep our parents informed and involved in the learning of our kids. Before the year even started, dozens of our students were in our school meeting their teachers and administration, finding their classrooms and lockers, and getting set up for a successful transition into our learning community.

The staff at Woodhaven Middle School are dedicated to keeping our parents informed.  Emails have been sent by teachers, parent meetings are already happening and blogs are popping up everywhere! If that isn’t enough, several teachers have already begun creating their distribution lists on Remind 101 for students and parents! If you haven’t yet had the opportunity to talk to your child’s teacher, don’t hesitate to call and join us for our Welcome Back Bar-b-q on Thursday, September 18th. Check out our website for all of the details.

Problem Solving

The staff and students at Woodhaven Middle School are problem solvers.  I see each day how creative staff are in helping students navigate through challenges as they continue to “Learn How to Learn” and as students continue to “Learn How to Get Along”, two key goals of our learning community.

Fun

While we all want to have it, we often overlook the absolute necessity of having fun at school.  It’s more than just having fun in Physical Education or Exploratory Options. Fun needs to be pervasive in our schools and classrooms and it starts with the adults structuring those environments to facilitate some fun. I have witnessed, first hand, how much fun our staff can be. Check out the video below.

At Woodhaven Middle School we know that our energy and enthusiasm is contagious and it helps to create an engaging learning environment for our students. It is this energy and enthusiasm that helps the staff of Woodhaven Middle School to build strong and supportive relationships with our students and parents.

I encourage you to come in to the school to introduce yourself. Your child’s teachers and I would love to meet you!

I will finish with a great comment I heard from one of our teachers at the end of the first day of school

Only 183 days left… for us to spend together. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Shaye Patras

Principal, Woodhaven Middle School

About Shaye Patras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Top 10 Gems From Week 1 at Woodhaven Middle School

  1. Leslie Kronewitt says:

    You’re quite the author!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

