Take Aways From Day 1 of Teacher’s Convention 2015

As parents and students are aware, teachers from North Central Alberta are enjoying their annual Teacher’s Convention today and tomorrow. Before I officially wrap up the work day for today I thought I would share a few of my reflections.

The expression used to be that if a teacher could take one thing away from a Professional Development session to put into their practice tomorrow, it was a good session. As I continue to attend more professional development, through varied formats such as Twitter, Blogs, PLC’s, Traditional Sessions/Conferences and Webinars I am not sure if that still applies, but that conversation is for a different post. I did take away one significant learning today, but it wasn’t quite what you might think so read on please 🙂

As is always the case, Teacher’s Convention provides the opportunity to connect with colleagues and friends that we haven’t seen since… well this time last year! I was in a session with @Joshy1199 where we heard ATA member services staff answer questions, share insights and help all of us to deepen our understanding of the Code of Professional Conduct and how it applies to our everyday work.

Later in the day I enjoyed a workshop facilitated by Dan Bateman on Universal Design for Learning (UDL) which served as a great follow-up to the work our staff began on our recent Professional Development day. My tweet below describes the foundational principle of UDL as I understood it today.

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-partner=”tweetdeck”>

UDL is intended to reduce barriers to learning for all students.What a fit for the world of inclusion @WoodhavenMS #psd70 #whpack

— Shaye Patras (@shayepatras) February 5, 2015

And now for a few other nuggets of wisdom that stuck with me today in Dan’s session

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-partner=”tweetdeck”>

UDL 3 principles.Multiple means of engagement, representation, action and expression. #whpack #psd70 #nctca2015

— Shaye Patras (@shayepatras) February 5, 2015

As I was walking from one session to another I stopped to chat with a few colleagues who were explaining that they just needed to get up and walk around for a while before their next session as they’ve had to sit through 3 already! I laughed, agreed that it’s a long time to sit and went on my way.

A few minutes later I had my biggest take away from today. As teachers, we are struggling with sitting for 3 hours… with a break in between each hour! Yet we ask our kids to sit for 6 hours everyday and look, listen and learn!

If we teachers keep this in mind as they plan lessons, and administrators consider this in planning of Professional Development our students and staff might enjoy the learning just a little bit more!

I am excited to hear Hayley Wickenheiser speak tomorrow at NCTCA 2015!

 

About SPatras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Leading a Learning Community, Providing Instructional Leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

