What’s Up This Week at Woodhaven – March 23rd, 2015

After a great conversation with @georgecouros recently, we discussed how I might incorporate more blogging into my everyday routine, without adding more tasks onto an already full itinerary! George’s suggestion was to post my Monday memo on my blog.

For those who are unaware, the Monday Memo is my weekly message to my staff which serves several purposes. First,this memo helps to reduce the number of emails that I send to staff throughout the week. As I find things that I need to pass along to my staff throughout the week, if they can wait until the weekend, I put them in the memo. It’s actually been quite helpful in managing the number of emails that I send to the staff as a whole group.

The Monday memo also provides a kind of one stop shop for my staff. While there are bits and pieces that get added from week to week, it always contains a heads up on the schedules of all office staff. It clearly outlines when administration, secretaries, our Learning Coach and our Inclusive Education Lead are out of the building, and what we are doing. Not only do I believe it is helpful to staff to know whose here for support on any given day, but I think the transparency of where we are, if we are not at the school is also important.

Also included in the Monday Memo is an outline of activities for the week. For example this week’s memo reminds staff that our Parent/Student/Teacher Conferences are on Tuesday and Wednesday evening and that our Talent Show and Spring Fling are on Thursday. We are also excited to welcome the counselors from Spruce Grove Composite High School to speak to our grade 9’s again about their upcoming transition to gr 10. It’s sure to be a busy week yet again in the Woodhaven Learning Community.

While the memo also contains the “To Do’s” for the week (this week I reminded staff of our team effort to increase our presence in the hallways during transitions), each Monday Memo finishes with a professional development piece. We’ve examined everything from blog posts, to videos to quotes and pictures. This week’s reminder was a quote that caught my eye on Twitter. Check it out with this link!

My next “What’s Up This Week at Woodhaven” post will follow spring break in a few weeks so stay tuned!

I would love any feedback you have on how you communicate with your staff and community. Each year I continue to refine how I do this and have yet to find quite the right method!

Until then…

Shaye Patras

Principal, Woodhaven Middle School

About Shaye Patras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Engage our Community, Engage our Staff, Fostering Effective Relationships, Leading a Learning Community, Providing Instructional Leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

