What’s Happening This Week at Woodhaven? June 8-12, 2015

For those of you who have been following, you’ve noticed it’s been a few weeks since I posted my Monday Memo in this blog format. Sorry, like most of you I’ve been busy. If you’re swamped this week and have only 3 minutes, I would suggest skipping to the end of the post to read this blog post which I shared with my staff for a bit of professional reading. It’s got 6 suggestions on how to involve our students more in the talking during lessons.

For those who have 5 minutes to spare, here’s what’s up at Woodhaven!

There are lots of things happening this week, but of particular importance is the work that our planning committee will continue as we determine the Tier 2 and 3 supports for our students for next year, and as we begin to determine how we want to structure our professional development plan for next year. I am excited to see what great ideas and conversation we can have together!

Last week we gave a shout outs to Mrs. Strickland for hosting the retirement party for two fantastic members of our team, Mrs. Larsen and Mrs. Gericke who are both retiring at the end of this year. We love them both and they will be sorely missed!

While there are other activities and events happening throughout next week (such as Professional Growth Plan reviews) our focus remains on helping our students and staff finish strong. This is a great blog post I shared with staff on that last week.

With that I will sign off for another week!

Shaye Patras

Principal, Woodhaven Middle School

About Shaye Patras

I am a husband and father of two fantastic girls. I currently work as the Principal of Woodhaven Middle School in Parkland School Division in Alberta, Canada. I am excited to be continuing my administrative career in this learning community!
This entry was posted in Embodying Visionary Leadership, Engage our Staff, Fostering Effective Relationships, Leading a Learning Community, Providing Instructional Leadership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

